كريت – هيراكليون

التاريخ

جولة في هيراكليون

زيوس هو إله الضيافة عند اليونانيين القدماء، ويقال إنه التقى أميرة يوروبا ووقع في حبها في منطقة هيراكليون؛ فأنجبت له الأميرة ملوك وحكماء مينون الذين أسسوا أول أمة متحضرة في أوروبا.

مدينة هيراكليون الحديثة هي عاصمة كريت، المركز الاقتصادي للجزيرة، وتمتاز بأجوائها النابضة بالحياة. وتنتشر الكنائس البيزنطية وسط المباني العصرية في هذه المدينة العامرة بالتناقضات، فيما تقدم المقاهي والمتاجر الأنيقة ليهراكليون مذاقاً حضرياً مميزاً. لكن إذا كنت مستعداً لخوض الشوارع الخلفية، فستجد نمطاً حياتياً أكثر هدوءاً واصطباغاً بالطابع التقليدي.

توجّه إلى السوق المركزية للتبضع من زيت الكريتي والخمور والراكي والعسل والأعشاب.

المقاصد السياحية

تعمّق في أروقة الماضي داخل متحف هيراكليون الأثري الكبير الذي يضم أثاراً منسوبة لأحقاب امتدت لآلاف السنين. وتشمل أهمّ معروضاته المنحوتات اليونانية والرومانية، والجداريات المميزة والمجوهرات الخلابة. ولمن أراد المزيد من المعالم التاريخية، يمكن زيارة متحف معركة كريت، فهو رائع على صغره.

يمكن للأسر ذات الأطفال أن تتمتع بمتحف كريت للتاريخ الطبيعي (على بعد 15 – 20 دقيقة من مركز المدينة)؛ فهذا المتحف عامر بالمعروضات العظيمة، كما يضم مقهى بديعاً في حديقته البستانية. وينبهر الأطفال بالحوض المائي (“كريت أكواريوم” أو “تالاسوكوزموس”)، وهو عبارة عن 32 حاوية مليئة بآلاف الكائنات البحرية – بدءاً من القروش المفترسة وجراد البحر وانتهاءً بقناديل البحر الغريبة والبديعة.

يعتبر قصر كنوسوس معلماً رائعاً، كونه يحل ثانياً بين أهم المزارات في اليونان بعد أكروبوليس. إن زيارة إلى هذا القصر المينوي – بحاضره الرائع وغزارة محتوياته – يتيح فرصة جيدة لتجميع خيوط قصة الحضارة المينوية.

وللاطلاع على تفاصيل ماضي المدينة المزدهر، يمكنك زيارة اللوجيا الفينيسية، أو “لوتزيا” في مركز المدينة. والآن، أصبحت قاعة مركز المدينة في هيراكليون مزدانة بشعارات النبالة المنحوتة وغنائم النصر وحقول المنحوتات. ولقرون مديدة، اجتمع هناك نبلاء كريت طلبا للراحة أو الترفيه، ويعتبر هذا المكان حالياً من أروع المعالم الفينيسية في المدينة.

يعود تاريخ حصن كوليس الفينيسي – القائم على جدران المرسى – إلى مطلع القرن السادس عشر. وينبهر الزائر بقوة أساسه وتحصينه، وبروعة المناظر من قمته وسطحه. أما داخل الحصن فقد خضع للترميم، وتضم أفاريزه ومنحوتاته الخارجية أسد القديس مرقس.

المقاصد والأنشطة

في ما يلي قائمة بالروابط الإلكترونية الخاصة بالمواقع الزاخرة بالمعلومات المهمة عن المواقع الأثرية والمتاحف في أثينا

  • المتحف الأثري
  • المتحف التاريخي
  • متحف التاريخ الطبيعي
  • كنوسوس – المدينة القديمة


التخطيط لرحلتك »

البحث عن فنادق »

حجز الرحلات »

هل تعلم؟

تتمتع اليونان بأكثر من 250 يوماً مُشرِقاً في العام، أو بـ3000 ساعة مشمسة في السنة.

تضم اليونان أكثر من 2000 جزيرة، منها 170 جزيرة مأهولة تقريباً.

أكبر جزر اليونان هي كريت (3189 ميلاً مربعاً) (8260 كيلومتراً مربعاً)

تضم اليونان متاحف أثرية أكثر من أي بلد آخر في العالم.

اليونان هي المصدّر الرئيسي للإسفنج البحري

The Island Experience

Zeus, Greek god of hospitality, is said to have met and fell in love with Princess Europa in the region of Heraklion. She then gave birth to the Minoan kings and sages who were founders of the earliest civilized nation in Europe.

The modern city of Heraklion is the capital of Crete, the economic centre of the island and has a bustling atmosphere to match. Ancient Byzantine churches appear against a modern cityscape in this city of contrasts, while its pavement cafes and elegant boutiques lend Heraklion its cosmopolitan air. However, if you’re prepared to lose yourself in the back streets, you’ll get a glimpse of a slower, more traditional way of life.

Head to the central market to sample and stock up on Cretan oil, wine, raki, honey and herbs.

The Sights

Peer into the past at Heraklion’s enormous Archaeological Museum, which spans several thousand years. Highlights here include classic Hellenic and Roman sculptures, frescoes and jewellery. And for further historical insights, visit the small but informative Battle of Crete Museum.

Families with children will enjoy the Natural History Museum of Crete (15-20 minutes from the centre). It is packed with wonderful displays and has a great cafe in its horticultural garden. Kids also love the Aquarium (“CretAquarium” or “Thalassocosmos”). Its 32 tanks are filled with thousands of marine species, from hunter sharks and lobsters to weird and wonderful jellyfish.

The Palace of Knossos is a major attraction, being the second most visited place in Greece after the Acropolis. A visit to this well-restored, sprawling Minoan palace gives a good opportunity to piece together the threads of the story of the Minoan civilization.

For a further idea of the past prosperity of the city, visit the Venetian Loggia, or ‘Lotzia’ in the city centre. Now the city hall of Heraklion, it is decorated with sculptured coats of arms, trophies and metopes. For centuries the noblemen of Crete would gather here to rest or be entertained and it is now considered to be the finest Venetian monument in the city.

The Koules Venetian Fortress on the harbour walls dates back to the early 1500’s. Appreciate the immense solidity of this fortification and then enjoy the pleasure of the views from its turret and roof. It also has a restored interior with exterior reliefs of the Lion of St Mark.

What to see and do

Below is a list of links to websites with great information about the Archaeological Sites and Museums of Athens

Experience…

Find out more about Greece


Plan your trip »

Find Hotels »

Book Flights »

My Greece

Paint Greece using your memorable experiences as colour!

Upload your experience
Discover experiences

Did you know?

Greece enjoys more than 250 days of sunshine or 3,000 sunny hours a year.

Greece has more than 2,000 islands, of which approximately 170 are populated.

Greece’s largest island is Crete (3,189 sq.miles) (8,260 sq. km.)

Greece has more archaeological museums than any other country in the world.

Greece is the leading producer of sea sponges